Reviews For Tips for Writers
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: brandyandMJ Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 18, 2017 04:35 pm Title: The writers' turn

You know there is one particular person on this site I've come across who actually does that. I've wanted to call them out on it, but I didn't want to come off as a bitch. But I make pretty long chapters that take a couple of minutes to read and this specific reviewer is able to read three chapters in a span of five or six minutes sometimes... but because I don't want to step on toes I haven't said anything. 


As for finding a solution to people not reviewing I'm not sure if there is one. Any solution we make is going to run people away from the site one or two ways. 


1. If you work in favor of the writers on the sites and provide some sort of restriction that forces a reader to review then we'll loose members because some people are stubborn and don't want to take two minutes out of their day to write 'thank you for the chapter and I hope you update again soon.' 


or 


2. You leave things the way they are now then that'll force writers to leave the site because they feel unappreciated.


Honestly, for all the reads that people get on their stories they should at least get half of those reads in a review. Sometimes I feel the only way you can get some people to review is if you threaten them or bribe them. Now I've never been one to bribe but if I continue to get 75-100 reads on a chapter and 1 or 2 reviews then we're going to have a problem. As I said before and I'll reiterate; I don't need an essay. I just need the support. To you as a reviewer does that sound desperate/doing too much? 


Either way the entire situation is a headache. 

Reviewer: tinker13 Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 12, 2017 07:16 pm Title: The Basics

I dont what about a local college that teaches programming.  they might be looking for projects for students or know someone.  it's been years since I've been to school and I just moved so I dont know anyone remotely adequate 

 

how is the site with funds?  I meant to ask

 



Author's Response:

I wish it was that easy. In all likelihood, that just would mean they're able to do wordpress (possibly). We have posted ads for our needs before (paid, obviously), but didn't get any credible hits. Currently the site expense already exceed donations. Sadly, at this point in my career and personal life, I'm constantly overextended time-wise and I spend all my free time just maintaining the site. That's fine with me. It's a good break from the stress of everything else (I'll leave it at that as this is public), but I can't put more time into it than I have available.

I've kept the "support" topic's tracking of expenses vs donations (on the home page under news) up to date. Thanks for asking :) 

Reviewer: tinker13 Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 12, 2017 05:58 pm Title: The Basics

Each chapter costs you 1 point.  if you review you get 5 points.  no points no reading..I know search engines give you points for using them but its a programming thing.   Just a thought.



Author's Response:

That's something we've had up our sleeves. The only issue - finding a programmer skilled with efiction. Any chance you know of one looking for a commission?

Reviewer: mjsdirtydiana Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 12, 2017 05:33 pm Title: The writers' turn

I have to agree with what everyone has said!  It is disheartening as a writer when you spend a lot of time and effort trying to make your update as vivid and real to the reader and only get a few reviews with a lot of reads! Reading reviews good or bad gives the writer the desire to continue. 

As as a reader I always try to leave a comment be it short or long, even if I comment in between that I'm catching up!  

 

 



Author's Response:

You hit on a key point "even if I comment in between that I'm catching up!" I've done that more than once. Often what I'd post (back when I had time to even read :( ) was often "Playing catch up - sorry if I skip reviewing a chapter or two. I'm probably just being selfish because I'm too eager to read the next chapter"

Reviewer: brandyandMJ Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Sep 12, 2017 02:56 pm Title: The writers' turn

I agree and disagree with this whole ordeal about reviews. 

I agree that with the amount of time and effort that writers put into their stories readers should thank them by not only reading, but leaving a review as well. 

I disagree with the length of a review. The saying “beggars can't be choosers” comes into play when talking about reviewing. Now this is my opinion and hopefully no one gives me shit for it, but I feel a review is a review no matter what the length or the context. I’d rather have someone leave me a smiley-face emoji than to read and not comment at all. I’ll even accept a ‘great job’ or ‘please continue’. I get just as happy reading short reviews as I do long ones.

The only thing that really pisses me off is getting no reviews on a chapter at all or when someone who has never reviewed comments how I need to update more frequently or create longer chapters. Then that’s when we have a problem lol.

I don’t expect much out of people for reviews if they aren’t a writer on the site because they don’t know what writers actually go through.

All in all, I don’t need a one-page paper beginning with an introduction and ending with a conclusion about the chapter. What you like and disliked is fine or if you just want to tell me good job then that’s good too as long as you leave some sort of comment.



Author's Response:

Yay - someone took the devil's advocate position lol. I see your point. Would it make a difference if you were to discover the person was posting the same comment on a bunch of people's stories, only on the opening chapter, and all in a 10 minute period without actually reading anything? That's what I've been struggling with....

Reviewer: darkmc912 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Sep 12, 2017 01:43 pm Title: The writers' turn

I completely agree with everything said in this post. As an author and a writer, I'm not sure that the readers on this website are actually aware of the amount of effort - pure, sheer effort - which goes into my chapters. That's along with countless hours of research and planning, and then writing and editing, because I want the story to be a good, worthwhile read. I write for the people on this website. I always have the readers' best interests at heart. Therefore, I can't express how important feedback is to me. I want to know what people think! Reviews keep me going and even if it is just one sentence, it lets me know that I'm doing something right.

Not only that, but I feel like readers are sometimes hesitant to be critical. While reading positive comments makes my day, I also seek to find out how I can improve, based on what YOU - the readers - think. Part of being an author includes growing and developing skill. If you have any criticisms, do open up about them! That way, we can work constructively and produce even more amazing stories for you.

It's also just a means of consideration, even if you are not going to continue reading, leaving a line of thought for us really makes all the difference. Reviews are also a great form of communication between authors and readers and I feel like it makes the reading experience all that more special. It's important to engage with each other and establish that kind of connection. 

Personally, I think a review should detail the reader's true thoughts on the chapter a little more. I honestly always appreciate when people tell me they loved the chapter/enjoyed reading it - but what did you love about it? Why did you enjoy it? What do you expect next? Reviews are an opportunity for the readers to have a voice, too.

Make it about YOU. 



Author's Response:

Damn. I feel like I should ammend this to the registration confirmation email I send after creating someone's account. 

Reviewer: Gabby7 Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 12, 2017 07:57 am Title: The Basics

Giiirrrlll, heck naw! Lol. That was one of my fears too. I know this is the opposite of what you're trying to do but is there a way that if a person read a story 3 times without reviewing they can't move to the next chapter until they leave a review...a full sentence review? Do you think that will have a negative effect? 



Author's Response:

I wish! It is not possible unless we had many more donations (as that would be a time intensive endeavor to figure out) and a programmer capable of figuring this out. 

I don't think that would have a negative effect 

Reviewer: BabyGirl123 Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 12, 2017 05:20 am Title: The writers' turn

Oh ok now I know why I stopped getting emails Lol, I'll just stick to checking regularly 

 

@ a minium amount of reviews?  Howd you mean that?  Like for new members? Or in general? Since it's impossible to read and review every story that get posted  

 

But I think it's a way for new members to get more involved to review  (And get used to it) if they have a sort of minum amount of reviews to give when joining, and for authors it's nice too to see new 'faces' that have their opinions/feelings towards the characters or the plot 

 

 

I don't think 5 (that's what the current rules say I believe?) Is too much for the amount of time they're given to do so 

 

 

I just hope they won't stop giving reviews after they reached their so called 'to do' in order to be a member reviews, that would be sad 

 



Author's Response:

Minimum reviews is for new members. They just have to post 5 reviews in 30 days. The actual email contains the following (for complete transparency):

 

We are asking for 5 reviews the first 30 days, with at least one posted within 10 days from your account opening. This site continues because writers post stories, and people stop posting stories when readers stop reviewing. 

 

To be honest, it makes me sad that I even had to make this a guideline, but it is remarkable how many people join, start their own story, and never bother to review those of others.

Reviewer: BabyGirl123 Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 12, 2017 02:59 am Title: The writers' turn

One more thing, not complaining or anything but I don't receive e-mails anymore when I get reviews or anything 



Author's Response:

That's hotmail. They block emails from dreamhost. Gmail doesn't, so if you want those emails, I'd suggest changing the email address used on this site.

Reviewer: BabyGirl123 Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 12, 2017 02:38 am Title: The writers' turn

When you say change the page,  please don't change the way of how to post because right now it's very phone friendly  (imo anyways, I don't know how others post) 

 

 

What I like to see in reviews Is, maybe opinions of how people thought the chapter is  (not the grammar nazis, not everyone's mother language is English so yes it happens sometimes a word isn't spelled right but that happens, I mean as long as people know what it means I don't see a problem you know? Like for example things like inlove or in love or those kind of words weather to use a space or not, that's the kinda grammar nazi I mean) 

 

 

 

Reviewes really are motivation to continue writing, sure writing is something you love othwise you probaby don't post but getting response to it makes you extra motivated to write and reviewers sometimes come up with great ideas to put in the story too, maybe not always the next chapter but later on 

 

Maybe an edit button to edit a review would be handy for when you clocked clicked on submit but find a misspelled word, if possible othwise I don't really have a idea of what dhouid change 

 

 

Tbh in my opinion I don't need changes  (I'm same with either Facebook or whatsapp updates, why change something that works perfectly fine before an update?)  

 

 

But if the majority of the members want a complete change well who am I to not agree with it? 

 

 

 



Author's Response:

Oh - no worries about that. Just the header and skin. The main set back we've had in making changes is that people aren't familiar with the efiction format and we don't want to leave the efiction format.

LOL re: grammar nazi. Yeah, I agree. The only way I'd post/get a comment like that is if there are a TON of errors throughout the story. At which point it's just off putting. I probably write 30+ pages a week and there's always a few errors that slip by.

We got rid of the "edit" button as people were giving their email addresses/phone numbers and then editting them out. It sucks that a few people trying to manipulate rules has repercussions for all...alas, they do.

Do you think we should set a minimum on number of reviews and/or length of reviews?

Thanks for your feedback :) 

Reviewer: Gabby7 Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 11, 2017 09:26 pm Title: The Basics

This is a great topic! First, I'm very thankful for the comments I receive...I love reading them, but I'll have to agree with Tinker and Fire...it can be very discouraging when a writer spends time and effort on creating a story and not receive adequate responses. I like to do the questions at the end of each chapter too, to help get thoughts and comments going. I personally love reading a thorough review...i try to leave detailed reviews for when I read as well...it's encouraging. So, I agree, a full sentence should be required. My main issue is posting a chapter and seeing over a hundred reads (not counting the ones who click in and click out because they don't like it) only to receive 3 or 4 comments. I know this topic is to help getting people to review more, but in situations like that, is there a thank you button that could be created? 



Author's Response:

Hey :)

I'm glad that my requests from new members are in line with your guys' wants (at least so far). My feedback to them is always to stress how much writers give to the community and reviewers' responsibility to let them know their gratitude by reviewing what they've read. Still, we have a TON of members who rarely/never review and I'm trying to figure out a nonpunative/coercive method to encourage them to review more frequently. 

I've toyed with the idea of a thank you button. My fear is that it will replace the need to review, so a story will end up with tons of thanks and maybe 1 review, rather than 4+ reviews. What do you think? Would that be an okay trade off in your mind?

Reviewer: tinker13 Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 11, 2017 09:21 pm Title: The Basics

for the test chapter, Maybe a category but there are guidelines that it has to be a certain minimal number of words so that yu dont get people who post  20 test stories that just say " I was thinking of a story with Michael being a clown in the circus and falling in love with a trapeze girl" (bad example I know)  but you get the gist.  the test chapter would have to be like the first chapter of a new story, to pull you in.

 

I dont know if theres a way to do it but maybe you are only allowed to have it there for a certain amount of time and it either becomes a story or they have to delete it. again to prevent people from posting 20 stories and never doing anything with them like we've seen with certain authors that have faded off into the sunset but had like 100 3 chapter stories.  I would limit how many test stories you can have posted at 1 time. ( 1 or 2?)

 

 

 

 



Author's Response:

We have it set so that people have to include 250 words if the chapter is going to be able to post :) Hence the slow down in journal updates of one sentence and/or chapter updates that are really "should I continue?"

Hmmm. Let me mull on that before we take any action ourselves (or go ahead and start it yourself). I'm trying to decide if that should be a separate category or simply one thread people can add on to.

Reviewer: tinker13 Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 11, 2017 08:18 pm Title: The writers' turn

As an author, I find reviews are vital to writing.  Sure we all write because we like to and it's a hobby or passion but nothing is more defeating than taking the time to write, get alot of reads and 3 reviews.  I find it offputting when people say they just dont have time to review when as an author we sacrafice endless hours to produce a chapter.  

I try to ask a few questions at the ending comments to try to encourage readers to review.  I love the reviews where people comment or discuss things that happened during the whole chapter and not just answering the questions.  But any review is always welcome and encouraged.

 

How could you support the inspiration process?  I would love to be able to maybe have a test category where you could post a chapter with a minimum number of words as a test to see if anyone is interested.  I know it would be easy to say well just post a one shot but to me a one shot is a stand alone story whereas  test chapter doesnt necessirally wrap everything up.

Maybe challenges?  hell I was the only one who did the photo challenge(sort of) and it turned intoa descent story. IMO.

 

its nice to see some admin activity again.

 

 

 



Author's Response:

Oh girl - there hasn't been a single day in the last year and a half when I haven't been active on this site. It may not be obvious, but with having to manually register members (and so many people who don't follow the instructions posted), trouble shoot issues, and follow up on review postings, I probably average 30+ minutes a day on maintaining the site. I've probably registered over a 1000 altogether. Skye checks in for troubleshooting almost as much! It's really only the superficial stuff that hasn't changed, and that's because it's hard to find someone who is skilled at manipulating efiction software and we are both too busy to open that can of worms ourselves. 

I've seen your questions - I really like that you do that. It is essentially providing the reviewers a template for their review. Like any passion, there needs to be some form of feedback in order to keep it a passion. 

Hmm. I like the test chapter idea. Do you perhaps have anything in mind to start something like that up? 

Your story turned out great - we just need interest from a bunch of members. If you have an idea for a prompt/challenge, we are always receptive. Either we can post it up or we have no issue with members starting their own. We may be owners/admins, but make no mistakes - MJFiction is a community. We just keep general order so that shit doesn't go amok like before, writers get the reviews they work for, and the site can continue on for the indefinite future and no one needs to fear it suddenly disappearing. 

 

Reviewer: Fire-in-her-veins Signed [Report This]
Date: Sep 11, 2017 08:02 pm Title: The writers' turn

I think this is a great idea:) as a writer, reviews are super encouraging for me and keep me going when i get stuck or discouraged and more motivated to update. I think definitely a review thats at least a sentence in my opinion that's been more encouraging then one/two words or an emoji. Also getting positive feedback and constructive criticism:) great idea. 



Author's Response:

Great - sometimes when people who joined and then failed to really review complain to me, I start to wonder if 5 reviews is being too demanding. I really hope some readers take note of the importance reviews play in encouraging writers!

Reviewer: brandyandMJ Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Apr 25, 2017 10:38 pm Title: The Basics

"Honestly at the rate I'm going Mars Vs. Venus, Sweet Lady, I Want You, and Gangsta Lovin will all be done by May or June because I write some HUGE chapters for those stories and I have a plan.  I NEED to stick to the plan and not steer off,  that's how i jump all over the place." - Brandy (Feb. 23, 2015)

Lies, I told. I love going back and reading these chapters/the reviews that people left, but damnit I was talking a lot of stuff two years ago. Sweet Lady is still up and running, I Want You is gone, Gansta Lovin' is done (at least I stuck to that one), and Mars Vs. Venus is under major construction. 

But anyway consistency in both updating and writing is very important. I would never abandon my story the way some people have. I've seen stories made in 2011 and they're updating them this year and it only has a good 8 chapters. - Brandy (Feb. 23, 2015)

Then she turned right around and did what she said she wouldn't do, lol. This is like the pot calling the kettle black... I had no room to talk. Granted at this moment I probably wasn't doing it, but then I did and to multiple stories. I guess that's why my grandmother always told me never to say I won't ever do something because you never know. 

I guess the only logical explanation I can give is that at times I rush into stories without properly thinking them through? If I can be honest I love writting, but I tend to put more on my plate than I can handle, and that's when life gets in the way (school, work, etc). Although I've tried to make up for my inconsistency's the best way I can over these last couple of weeks. 

Anywho, do you think you'll ever come back to this? 



Author's Response:

You mean to tell me: having started 38743837 stories in close proximity to one another, you have a problem with having too many ideas and making too long of a to-do list of obligations?! shocker :P

I feel like most of the missteps I see fall under the topics already covered.......I've been super busy the last year and sadly, have the time to maybe have the mental energy to read a couple chapters every couple months. My spare interwebz time is usually spent opening accounts/exchanging emails with members. What would you have me write on?

You must login (register) to review.